Empty house returned to use in Southend

An empty house in Westcliff, not yet returned to use

I don’t know whether to laugh or cry. I guess I ought to see it as a small victory for my campaigning, but the news that Southend Borough Council has at last issued an EDMO (Empty Dwelling Management Order) on an empty property in the town raises all sorts of questions.

First the laughter; I am delighted that a family home is being put back into circulation. This will be wonderful news for the family that is going to be housed in it, and I trust that this is the first of many homes brought back into circulation.

Now the tears; according to 2009 figures Southend has 2607 empty homes, of which 1375 have been empty for more than six months. I accept that there will be good reasons for some of these, but all of us will know of properties being left to rot for years. The total number of empty homes equates to 3.35% of all housing, and this number includes 202 council properties.

The relevant legislation was passed in 2004. So we have almost six years of inactivity which has witnessed growing housing lists, as well as contentious new developments. If Southend Council’s interim EDMO is the first in the eastern region then is neglect is not unique to Southend.

Doubtless the local Tory administration could point to Labour-run councils where the situation is worse. But this is not the point. I live in Southend, a town run by the Tories for almost all of my life. I want a better Southend, and when there is legislation that addresses a real need I want to know why all we have seen up till now is inactivity.

I hope to be able to read of more EDMOs issued and more homes brought back to life in the weeks and months ahead. This will be good news for both the homeless, and for those battling unwanted development.

3 Responses to Empty house returned to use in Southend

  1. Pingback: Thousands Of Empty Homes In Southend « onlineFOCUS - News and Stuff For Rochford District

  2. I’m reminded of that old quote from Alien of The Sinyx that appeared in New Crimes many years ago; “There’s millions homeless, like or not,
    So open up the doors and lets all squat!”

    Thanks for publicising this Jules!

  3. Pingback: Empty Properties And The Council Tax « onlineFOCUS – News and Stuff For Rochford District since 2003

Leave a comment