I was probably the only guy on the beach in a suit today

Some of the Warrior Soup Kitchen people

Some of the Warrior Soup Kitchen people


I realise this makes me sound hopelessly square, but in my defence I did have earlier engagements which I thought required a reasonably tidy appearance.

This afternoon I popped down to the seafront (in a suit) to attend the Warrior Soup Kitchen Tent Awareness Day For Our Towns Homeless. It was my chance to talk to some volunteers about what they are up to, and why they are particularly drawn to help to homeless.

I have stated my desire to do what I can, which really amounts to helping raise awareness. It seems pretty feeble besides what I see others do, but we all can help in own small ways. (This is my widow’s groat.)

It is a fact, a shocking fact, that whilst we live in the sixth or seventh largest and wealthiest economy in the world, twenty-first century Britain has a growing poverty problem. Something like a million people a year visit food banks, and homelessness is rising.

I met many wonderful people today (Peter, Julie, Jo, Caren, Sam and Bernie, to name just a few). I also bumped into two Green Parliamentary candidates (Simon Cross and Sarah Yapp) and we had a good political chat, on the beach, in the blazing sun, with me in the suit.

The Facebook page for today’s event explains what it is about.

Leave a Reply

