South Essex General Election candidates

Across south Essex the local councils are putting up notices of who is standing in both local and Parliamentary elections on May 7th.

Here follows the candidates for the Parliamentary elections.

Labour Conservative Liberal Democrat UKIP Green English Democrats
Basildon and Billericay Gavin Callaghan John Baron Martin Thompson George Konstantinidis
Brentwood and Ongar Liam Preston Eric Pickles David Kendall Michael McGough Reza Hossain Robin Tilbrook
Castle Point Joe Cooke Rebecca Harris Sereena Davey Jamie Huntman Dominic Ellis
Chelmsford Chris Vince Simon Burns Stephen Robinson Mark Gough Angela Thomson
Epping Forest Gareth Barrett Eleanor Laing Jon Whitehouse Andrew Smith Anna Widdup
Harlow Suzy Stride Robert Halfon Geoffrey Seeff Sam Stopplecamp Murray Sackwild Eddy Butler
Rayleigh and Wickford David Hough Mark Francois Mike Pitt John Hayter Sarah Yapp
Rochford and Southend East Ian Gilbert James Duddridge Peter Gwidzala Floyd Waterworth Simon Cross
South Basildon and East Thurrock Mike Le-Surf Stephen Metcalfe Geoff Williams Ian Luder
Southend West Julian Ware-Lane David Amess Paul Collins Brian Otridge Jon Fuller Jeremy Moss
Thurrock Polly Billington Jackie Doyle-Price Rhodri Jamieson-Ball Tim Aker

This is not a list of all candidates – there are a few independents and some parties only fielding the one candidate. Parties not in this list are: Cannabis is Safer than Alcohol, All People’s Party, YPP, TUSC, and Liberal Party.

It was tempting to show only those parties with a full slate, but my Green friends would doubtless have cried ‘foul’; and having include the Greens I felt obliged to include the English Democrats.

The last time I stood (local elections, 2012), the chair of the English Democrats (Robin Tilbrook) sued me for defamation (unsuccessfully); I wonder whether he will do so again? Perhaps if I mention that his Harlow candidate is a former member of the National Front and the BNP he will be tempted.

Basildon and Billericay has the least crowded ballot paper – a mere four candidates. Seven names will be shown on ballot papers in Harlow, South Basildon and East Thurrock, and Thurrock.

The real contest, for who will run the country for the next five years, is between Labour and the Conservatives. UKIP will be hoping to pinch enough Tory votes to see some success, the Greens are seemingly intent on helping the Tories by splitting Labour’s vote. I predict the English Democrats will lose every deposit.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: