Dizzy

There is so much spinning going on in Southend Conservative circles that I fear some will end up quite dizzy. Whilst I realise that they feel impelled to leap on anything that resembles success, I would have hoped that a little more honesty would have been employed when doing so.

They have claimed victory in regards to the keeping open of the borough’s toilets. Whilst I am glad they backed my arguments, and I am happy to applaud them for doing this, this really is a victory for my reasoned powers of persuasion and not their off-stage whining.

The same goes for the collection of textile waste. I urged that the collection be retained, and I am grateful to the portfolio holder for listening and acceding to my urging. Another victory for this Labour Milton councillor. If the Conservatives locally wish to laud this as a victory for them then I am generous enough to share – but to make out that they led on this and achieved this concession alone is simply untrue.

The current Conservative Group on Southend-on-Sea’s Council are the inheritors of a miserable record, and the people have passed judgement. They are desperate in many ways, and their Spin Machine is attempting to pull rabbits from hats. I warn voters to not be fooled; the bad old Tories are still there.

The one piece of the puzzle that is definitely missing from the overly-spun Conservative narrative is why any cuts are necessary at all. Little wonder their literature makes almost no reference to their Government and what it is doing – they cannot spin enough to make that at all presentable.

2 Responses to Dizzy

  1. I can understand that you feel peeved that others are claiming glory for your work, but what about:

    Labour MPs have won a victory in Parliament against the coalition’s Bedroom Tax. Andrew George’s private member’s bill, backed by Labour MPs, could be the first step to ending the misery inflicted on the poor and vulnerable.

    The Liberal Democrats voted with Labour on this occasion. …
    Julian’s Musings 7 September 2014 : Press release: Labour’s Julian Ware-Lane welcomes blow to hated bedroom tax

    I seem to recall that this private member’s bill was promoted by Andrew George a Liberal Democrat MP and it was Labour voting with the Liberal Democrats!

    Whilst I am glad Labour backed a Liberal Democrat’s arguments, and I am happy to applaud them for doing this, this really was a victory for Lib Dem Andrew George’s reasoned powers of persuasion.

  2. Repost with formatting sorted – I hope!
    I can understand that you feel peeved that others are claiming glory for your work, but what about:

    Labour MPs have won a victory in Parliament against the coalition’s Bedroom Tax. Andrew George’s private member’s bill, backed by Labour MPs, could be the first step to ending the misery inflicted on the poor and vulnerable.

    The Liberal Democrats voted with Labour on this occasion. …
    Julian’s Musings 7 September 2014 : Press release: Labour’s Julian Ware-Lane welcomes blow to hated bedroom tax

    I seem to recall that this private member’s bill was promoted by Andrew George a Liberal Democrat MP and it was Labour voting with the Liberal Democrats!

    Whilst I am glad Labour backed a Liberal Democrat’s arguments, and I am happy to applaud them for doing this, this really was a victory for Lib Dem Andrew George’s reasoned powers of persuasion.

Leave a Reply

