The Baroness and Southend West

FundraiserI am a cheap candidate, I do not spend huge amounts of money on my campaigns and certainly not more than the local parties can afford. But I do spend – leaflets are not free. We had a good fundraiser on Saturday, already reported on elsewhere. I was delighted that the Rt Hon Baroness Smith of Basildon, someone who I have known for a long time, was able to come along and give a marvellous speech. Angela’s political career began in Southend West (a council candidate for Westborough ward in 1983), and she also contested the 1987 General Election in Southend West too. I believe my Labour activism began with a canvassing session in Basildon in the run-up to the 1997 General Election, and I was delighted to be able to support her campaigns right up to 2010, when she was unfortunately defeated.

Leave a Reply

