Unfit to govern? – UKIP Group in Southend-on-Sea suspended by UKIP

Yesterday I heard a rumour that UKIP in Southend-on-Sea were suspending some, if not all, of their political campaigning. This was unverified, and although I can imagine that UKIP HQ must be flummoxed by the behaviour of Cllrs Moyies and Waterwoth, I could not see how this would affect their Southend West candidate Brian Otridge.

My colleague, agent, and friend Cllr Kevin Robinson then alerted me to this tweet:

Simon Dedman @SiDedman
.@UKIP suspends 4 #Southend councillors including leader @JamesMoyies after they expelled the local parliamentary candidate last week

This from last night.

This suggests that their Rochford and Southend East candidate, Floyd Waterworth, is free to continue campaigning (if he has at all started). What it means for Moyies, Burling, Callaghan and Davies is uncertain.

I repeat what I wrote a few days ago: If there is a brewery looking for someone to organise a drinking session I suggest they avoid calling UKIP in Southend-on-Sea.

One Response to Unfit to govern? – UKIP Group in Southend-on-Sea suspended by UKIP

Leave a Reply

