The ugly Green Party agenda – standing for no other reason than to stop me

Jon Fuller is the Green Party candidate for Southend West. Until recently he had two Facebook accounts; one as himself, and another as Jon Fullergreenparty. He also liked to add comments to his fellow Green Party Parliamentary Candidate’s posts (Simon Cross); these comments have also seemed to disappear.

For those who did not have the opportunity to enjoy Mr Fuller’s prose, I reproduce extracts below.

By 2010 the most extraordinary thing had happened – Labour had drifted so far away from its roots that it sat on the centre-right of British politics, with the Lib-Dems positioned as the party of the centre-left. So, here in Southend West, with our first past the post system, it made sense for people like me to vote Lib-Dem. Plus, in Peter Welch (who stood in 2010), we were offered an eco-aware candidate who understood that Southend was the wrong place to build a busy regional airport.
But, in 2015, the landscape will be very different – Labour has selected Julian Ware-Lane, Peter cannot stand this time and the Lib-Dem vote is likely to collapse. The electorate has one important function to perform beyond the obvious role of casting a vote on the ballot paper – we have to punish a political party if it promises one thing and delivers another. That is what the Lib-Dems have done – they positioned themselves as the main left of centre party but delivered a hard right agenda. The age of austerity brought a vicious assault upon the living standards of the great mass of us, but the super-rich became a lot richer. We expect that of the Conservatives, not of progressive politicians. So it is entirely understandable that the Lib-Dems will lose millions of votes in 2015.
I am now so disillusioned with the Labour Party that it would have been difficult for me to ‘pinch my nose’ and vote for the party in 2015, but the selection of Julian Ware-Lane makes that choice impossible. For me Julian represents everything that is wrong in the Labour Party. I could never vote for him. Not only does he support the climate busting expansion of Southend Airport but he has campaigned against speed bumps in our incredibly densely populated town – where children are particularly vulnerable. The patch closest to his home (and mine), that apparently causes him so much consternation, is the set of bumps outside the three high schools and close to Our Lady of Lourdes and Darlinghurst primary schools.

I have lived in this constituency for nearly 40 years and spent over 25 years of that time campaigning on road safety. Many people will have seen reports on the campaigns I have organised in the local press, heard me on radio or seen me on TV. In the 1990s, when the UK killed more child pedestrians on our roads than any other EU nation, I campaigned to have speed limits around town reduced and ran a national campaign “Speedlimit” to force politicians to stop killing and maiming so many children. In the mid-90s we made a breakthrough, securing a package of measures that would protect children. Between 1998 and 2007 we saved the lives of 520 children – mostly by installing speed bumps. I am sure everyone will understand why, with that background, I cannot allow the Labour Party to reverse those gains and why I must stand for election in opposition to Julian Ware-Lane.

So, let me be clear, I know what the outcome of the election in this constituency will be; but I will not allow the electorate of this town to only be offered different shades of brutality on the ballot paper.

I didn’t want my political affiliations to dilute my eco-work but, when Labour chose Julian Ware-Lane as their candidate, I realised I had to act. It is possible that we could have been offered a good Lib-Dem candidate but Peter Welch wasn’t able to stand, and I couldn’t take the chance that someone in the Graham Longley mould would be selected. If I was going to stop Julian, I had to knuckle down & get on with it. It is ghastly. I hate it. But duty calls.

David Amess and I went through a bad patch during the 1990s, when the Tories were attacking Labour over its road safety strategy but since then we have worked well together. David attended and spoke at two meetings I organised (the No Estuary Airport Campaign and the Energy Bill Revolution) and when the Southend Airport scheme went ahead, he did at least show respect & sympathy to those who suffered real misery as a result of expansion; something constituents cannot expect from Julian Ware-Lane.

Perhaps Labour could apologise for Julian’s crass campaign against speed bumps around the schools and assure the public that the party will ditch any candidate who fails to campaign to protect children from the greatest threat they face?

While Labour members and Labour supporters refuse to apologise and make amends, those of us who are driven to protect the vulnerable have an overriding duty to stand up for those who cannot protect themselves. That is why I joined the Green Party and that is why I very reluctantly decided I had to stand against the brutality of the local Labour Party’s policies.

When the Green Party announced its candidates for the East of England’s seaside towns  they included this:

Elsewhere in Essex, Simon Cross was chosen as the Green Party’s candidate for Rochford and Southend East and Jon Fuller was selected as the candidate for the neighbouring constituency of Southend West.

Jon Fuller has been associated with the campaign to stop expansion of Southend Airport and to oppose the Thames Estuary airport scheme. He said:
“I am incredibly privileged to have been asked to stand for the Green Party and will fight a campaign on the issues the other parties are terrified of touching”.

I am not sure what issues he thinks I am terrified of touching, and it certainly does not include the question of who removed a large part of Jon Fuller’s presence from Facebook?

7 Responses to The ugly Green Party agenda – standing for no other reason than to stop me

  1. “So, let me be clear, I know what the outcome of the election in this constituency will be…”

    Does he indeed? Well I don’t, and I think that is something which should be left to the voters of Southend West, not “Mystic Jon” and his amazing disappearing Facebook posts.

  2. Purna Sen says:

    ha! and I am attacked by Green Party people for standing in Brighton Pavilion. They don’t seem to believe it right that they face competition..(check my twitter timeline) Sympathy and solidarity, Julian!

  3. Rob Brown says:

    Because the UK Parliament is the appropriate place to make a stand on speed bumps outside a local school.

  4. Pingback: Red and Green – Clashing Colours « onlineFOCUS – News and Stuff For Rochford District since 2003

  5. The Greens are absurd when it comes to this. They don’t think that Labour should stand against Caroline Lucas, they don’t think Labour should campaign against them, but they’re happy to stand against Labour and try and win over almost exclusively Labour voters, regardless of whether it puts the Tories or UKIP into power.

  6. Gary Fuller says:

    And in shock news I’ve found the post that was allegedly removed. I may be in a competing party to both my Uncle and you guys, but let’s talk policy (rather than how little people understand about how Facebook works)… https://www.facebook.com/permalink.php?story_fbid=1381123888846998&id=100008481997357

  7. Simeone Jackson says:

    You’ve not done yourself any favours with this post. If you’ve got nothing to argue against this man (other than saying he deletes some of his Facebook posts), then my vote isn’t going in your direction.

Leave a Reply

