Escala

013Last night, despite feeling very rough with a cold, I popped into the Beecroft Art Gallery to have a look at Escala exhibition. As part of their 21st birthday there was a celebration of sorts. My visit was short but I did ensure that I looked at every exhibit of Latin American art.

Had I been feeling better I may have taken better advantage of the free food on offer.

I also used my visit to have a look another exhibition: FootballStadiun – 21st Century Cathedrals. At one time I used to visit professional football grounds – although some that I have visited no longer exist (Reading and Sunderland to name but two). Over my long career as a referee I have visited many grounds, some more memorable than others. There once was an East Ham United which had a memorable shower in the referees’ changing room – it had weeds growing up through the shower tray, and I received an electric shock turning the shower unit on!

I have stories about the tall weeds on the terracing at Tilbury, of an extremely bumpy pitch at Clapton, the strangely offset stand at Cambridge City, the showers that used to flood the changing rooms at Basildon United, and many, many more. Good days.

Leave a Reply

