People with learning disabilities must be heard

Julian Ware-Lane listens to a young man with learning difficulties

Julian Ware-Lane listens to a young man with learning difficulties

I was pleased to be invited to support the Hear My Voice campaign.

There are 1.4 million people with a learning disability in the UK – and millions more connected to them. Issues like poor health care, hate crime and social isolation affect their lives. Mencap says these hugely important issues should be debated, not ignored, and I agree.

People with learning disabilities must be heard. Mencap wants learning disability to be firmly on the political agenda, and I am committed to seeing that that is the case.

My pledge can be seen here – https://www.hear-my-voice.org.uk/listening/cllr-julian-ware-lane

The Hear My Voice manifesto can be read here – https://www.mencap.org.uk/sites/default/files/documents/Mencap_Manifesto_2014.pdf

Leave a Reply

