Jessica Phillips for Eastwood Park

1601120_611664038913337_1732041_n-001Full name Jessica Phillips

Age 28

Occupation Full time Mum. Previously a retail manager.

Where do you live? Bournemouth Park area

Where were you born? Norwich, Norfolk

Have you stood for election before? No.

Why are you Labour?: I’m Labour because I believe that hard-working people should be rewarded but not at the expense of society’s most vulnerable.

Why are you standing? I like living in Southend and really believe that the current Council needs to start looking after the interests of the Boroughs residents. Our High Street is in decline, we have residents having to rely on food banks in order to feed their families, anti-social behaviour in the town centre and a rise in crimes committed by people travelling into the Borough. The Council’s solutions? Palm trees on the sea front…

What are your hobbies? I’m a passionate musician having studied popular music at a music college. I sing mostly but play a few instruments. I love to bake and cook for family and friends. I’m an avid reader, especially Terry Pratchett but I also enjoy the Harry Potter series.

Are you active in the community? I’m involved in the Scout Movement at 10th Southend Scout Group (St Mark’s Own) where I’m helping to run the Beaver Colony.

Anything else you would like people to know about you? My background in retails means that I’m passionate about saving our high streets, especially in Southend. We have too many betting shops, hair dressers and ‘pop up’ shops. The council needs to support local business that can employ local people. We need to make Southend somewhere we can be proud of living.

Email address jesphillips2013@gmail.com

Twitter id @LirealP

Leave a Reply

