Abundance

This week I was re-elected as Secretary of Leigh Branch Labour Party. This branch covers the four wards of Belfairs, Blenheim Park, Leigh and West Leigh. I have been Secretary for eight years now. Charles Willis was re-elected as Chair.

Also this week I attended a celebration of the Chinese New Year where I was fed to bursting!

I have reported rubbish and potholes and attended a SEAL meeting with the promised outcome of a street blitz in or near Station Road, Westcliff-on-Sea.

I have ascertained that fourteen of the cases of people moving owing to the bedroom tax did so because of rent arrears – a clear indication of the effect of this odious piece of legislation.

I am getting the feeling that the council dog warden post has disappeared (I recall it being outsourced at the last budget), but I am still trying to get to the bottom of that one.

There is more, and much being done in the background. I will report here if I unearth anything interesting.

I have been asked to speak at my nephew’s funeral.

Leave a Reply

