Receding retirement

This morning’s post included a missive from the Department for Work & Pensions. They inform me that under the Pensions Act 2011 my State Pension age will now be my 66th birthday.

So, only a dozen year’s wait then, unless the rules change again between now and 2025.

My working life started when I was sixteen; my working life will officially last forty-nine years. For me, as someone who has a desk job, this extension is not a big deal. For those with manual jobs, or who spend most of their day on their feet then it could be a different matter. Some struggle to stay working until the current retirement age, many forced into early retirement through ill health.

In my youth I had a fondness for science fiction. Much of what this genre ‘predicted’ has come to pass, a lot has not. The latter category includes the expected increased leisure that was the assumed by-product of automation. Whilst my working week is considerably shorter than those endured by the workforce of the Victorian era, increased longevity and better healthcare will see a near half-century of working.

I hope to have a long retirement, I dread that much more of it will be eaten into as the Government struggles to get a grip of the pension crisis that is forcing the extension of all our working lives. Somehow it feels wrong that living in the sixth richest nation in the world in the twenty-first century we are seeing all of us having to work longer whilst living standards are in reverse gear

4 Responses to Receding retirement

  1. dave batter says:

    I blame the NHS, if we were not so well looked after we would not be living well past our allotted three score and ten.
    I have overstayed nearly five years and still working by choice.
    Not a matter of luck, watched my diet and alcohol intake, stopped smoking when I realised it was not good for me, use the stairs and walk most places I go except to work
    I plan to be around when you retire in 2025, may have stopped working by then.
    Your door knockering must keep you fit, keep it up

  2. Somehow it feels wrong that living in the sixth richest nation in the world in the twenty-first century we are seeing all of us having to work longer whilst living standards are in reverse gear

    Possibly because keeping the elderly at work – and avoiding paying pensions – is cheaper than keeping the young out of work and having to pay minimal job-seekers’ allowance? Are they (the elderly) also better economic value?

  3. Colin Gilbey says:

    When longer working lives were first proposed, regrettably by Labour, I said it was grossly unfair on those in manual jobs. Who ever thought of it should be given a shovel for a day. It was a great hope that technology would give us more leisure time – not in the capitalist world it won’t.

  4. rayandsue says:

    Quite right, The Capitalist world is a lie. A travesty, it cannot work, it fails in the end and we all
    Suffer, The writing is already on the wall if we care to look for it,

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,208 other followers

