The greatest albums of all time

Here is a list of the thirty-six greatest albums of all time, in my less than humble opinion. It is somewhat biased by what is in my record collection, and probably gives away my age.

If forced to pick one from the list as the best ever I would plump for The Sex Pistols’ debut.

Alanis Morissette Jagged Little Pill
Au Pairs playing with a different sex
Beat, The I Just Can’t Stop It
Beatles, The A Hard Day’s Night
Beatles, The Abbey Road
Beatles, The Magical Mystery Tour
Beatles, The Revolver
Beatles, The Rubber Soul
Beatles, The Sgt. Pepper’s Lonely Hearts Club Band
Bjork Debut
Clash, The The Clash
Cure, The Seventeen Seconds
David Bowie Aladdin Sane
David Bowie The Rise And Fall Of Ziggy Stardust And The Spiders From Mars
Electric Light Orchestra A New World Record
Fall, The Live At The Witch Trials
Fall, The ‘Totale’s Turns’ (‘It’s Now or Never’)
Hole Live Through This
Jam, The All Mod Cons
Joy Division Closer
Joy Division Unknown Pleasures
Kate Bush Never for Ever
Kate Bush The Kick Inside
Nirvana In Utero
Nirvana Nevermind
Nirvana Unplugged In New York
Norah Jones come away with me
Patti Smith Horses
Public Image Ltd Second Edition
Rolling Stones, The Let It Bleed
Sex Pistols, The Never Mind The Bollocks Here’s The Sex Pistols
Tracy Chapman Tracy Chapman
Who, The Live At Leeds
Who, The Quadrophenia
XTC drums and wires
Young Marble Giants Colossal Youth

4 Responses to The greatest albums of all time

  1. Dean says:

    A very rebellious selection. I hope you still feel the same about the unjust society we live in. If you do, you will win my vote!

  2. rayandsue says:

    I expected the list to include at least a few Soviet Union Marching song’s No joking, they were ‘cool’ lyrics then, and even today,
    I’v never heard of any of your list Julian , myself.
    Give me George Formby and Vera Lynn any time, My favourite though was Lillie Marlein! Sung by our ‘ tommies’ ‘ as they marched into battle!
    It was also sung by German boys ( in German ) as they marched into battle too! The German version sounded better perhaps because of the Foreign language,
    Both versions can be heard on Yutube!, great stuff , whilst hiding under the table waiting for the next doodlebug to hit you!

    My favourite song of all time would be ‘ Unchained Melody ‘ A close second would be. ‘ I just called to say I love you’. By Steve Wonder! … Rayandsue

  3. Chris Black says:

    How can you include 2 Kate Bush albums without one of them being “The Hounds Of Love” ?!

  4. Paul Collins says:

    Only one is on my list, ELO. Mine would have been – Queen, Elton John, Madness, Elbow, Muse, Dire Straits. After we explained what an Album is.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,259 other followers

