Westborough’s November Focus

Westborough Focus is edited by Neil Monnery and so I was expecting something a little more, er, interesting.

Neil Monnery is a Liberal Democrat blogger who has an exotic taste in subject matter. The following is a sample of posts he has written over the last half year,

 A bad error of judgement by the Southend Lib Dems
 The story of my (very real) UFO encounter and my (quite possible) alien abduction
 The (quite) interesting and bizarre world of online dating EXTRA!
 Take Me Out Girls USA
 The day I became a woman for 12 long hours…
 The online dating world and the real world accidentally meeting…
 The problem with being a 29 year-old virgin and having a Facebook account for your sanity levels
 It is time to announce my retirement from the world of online dating
 A cream that makes a woman’s vagina ‘feel like a virgin’ again – I expected more uproar/debate…
 A dating timetable? I like this idea!
 Men with a lack of self-confidence and a one-way ticket to the friend zone I have some dating advice for you…
 A three-part dream? Yes it seriously happened and boy was it fun.
 How to write a good online dating profile
 Take Me Out Girls 2012 on ITV1 – Season 4 Photos & Details
 Tonight I met Tina Cousins and acted very cool and not fangirlish…then I realised I had my flies undone. Fail.
 First date dating tips for men
 So I had a date last night? Who wants the goss…? I thought you might…
 The stigma of being ‘weird’ and ‘creepy’ that hovers like a spectre…

Neil is very wordy in his blog, and considerably less so as the Focus editor. Perhaps having to concentrate on sensible subjects sapped his energy, or maybe it is the lack of anything resembling progress by his party that leaves him uninspired. It could even be that he casts his mind back to May and the ninety votes he got in Westborough and wonders “what’s the point?”

Whatever it is the latest edition is neither of triumph for substance nor style. I suggest a ‘please recycle BEFORE reading’ headline next time.

3 Responses to Westborough’s November Focus

  1. Maximus Legalius. says:

    Comment removed by the moderator.

  2. neilmonnery says:

    I’m sorry you were disappointed.

    I think we both know if I had free reign the style and content would be extremely different but I don’t. It hit all the points that Cllr Collins wanted to so I was happy with it. As you also there are real constraints word wise so I couldn’t flow as I do on my blog but it got what Paul wanted across and that was its intention.

    Writing without a LD banner as I do on my blog allows me far far more freedom than writing with a LD banner and having several people having an input but the main issue is space. I can’t write 1,000 words on a subject unless I don’t want to talk about anything else.

    As for your suggested headline I’ll think about it but I think it’s vastly unlikely to be the final choice.

  3. Maximus Legalius says:

    Comment removed by the moderator.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,226 other followers

